Three new board members have been appointed by the Hon. Clare Scriven MLC, Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development, to guide operations at Vinehealth Australia.

The new board members are Ms Dianne Davidson AM, Mr Iain Jones and Ms Krysteen McElroy, who join current Directors Dr Jo Luck, Dr Sally Troy, Mr Alex Sas, and Mr Nick Secomb. The new board met for the first time on Monday 11 December and selected Di Davidson as its Chair.

“Congratulations to Di and our new and continuing Board members,” said Suzanne McLoughlin, Acting CEO of Vinehealth Australia. “I know it’s going to be a busy and productive year ahead, as we continue to deliver important biosecurity results for the South Australian grape and wine community.

“The three new board members all bring extensive industry experience, and together with our continuing Directors, offer a great diversity of skills.”

A Board Nominations Committee oversaw the selection process of the three new members and comprised representatives from the South Australian Wine Industry Association (SAWIA), Wine Grape Council of South Australia (WGCSA), South Australian Vine Improvement Association (SAVIA), as well as the outgoing Chair of Vinehealth Australia and an Independent Chair.

A key role of the board is to oversee implementation of the Vinehealth Australia Strategic Agenda 2021 to 2026, working alongside the South Australian grape and wine industry and government to protect vines from biosecurity risk and to advance vine health.

The Phylloxera and Grape Industry Board of South Australia, trading as Vinehealth Australia, is a South Australian independent statutory authority with a single-minded focus on biosecurity. It obtains its powers and functions from the Phylloxera and Grape Industry Act 1995, and has been protecting the State’s vineyards from significant pest and disease threats since 1899.